Free USA Shipping on all retail orders over $25.

Understanding the Seven Chakras

Understanding the Seven ChakrasMost people have heard the word “chakra” but many don’t know what it means. According to the

Hindu faith, a chakra is a wheel of energy, spinning in different directions depending on your gender.

There are seven main chakras in the body and they align along the spine, but there are also many minor energy centers. Here we will focus on the main seven and give you an overview of  what each chakra means, what part of the body it is connected to, its Sanskrit name and the color associated with it.

The colors of the rainbow are connected to each chakra and so we’ll begin with red.

Root Chakra Muladhara

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and has to do with feeling grounded, safe and secure. Its color is red and the parts of the body associated with its energies are the lower extremities, bones, large intestines, and the adrenal glands. The root chakra is in charge of your “fight or flight” response to danger, and a weak root chakra can result in feelings of disconnection, paranoia, and insecurity. 

Sacral Chakra Swadhisthana

The sacral chakra is the seat of creativity in the body and balances out the yin/yang energies each of carries within us. Its color is orange and the parts of the body it is associated with are the reproductive organs, lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, and circulation. It is also connected to the emotions and physical vitality, and your creative energies and sexuality. It is located about 2 inches below the navel. 

Solar Plexus Manipura

The color associated with the solar plexus is yellow and it is the seat of the ego; the

“I,” if you will. It is associated with self-esteem, feelings of confidence, and your ability to achieve. It is also the center for joy. The parts of the body connected with it are the muscles, digestive system, pancreas, and adrenal glands. A weak sacral chakra may manifest feelings of frustration, poor self-esteem and hyper sensitivity. 

Heart Chakra Anahata

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and its associated colors are green or pink. This chakra is connected to feelings of unconditional love, compassion, and some say it is the seat of the soul. The parts of the body connected to this energy vortex are the thymus, upper extremities, lungs and heart. A blockage of this energy can show up as a weakened immune system, lack of compassion, and isolation.

Throat Chakra Vishuddha

The throat chakra’s color is sky blue and its energies are associated with speech and truth. It is located at the throat and is said to be the center for self-expression, communication in general, and creativity. Parts of the body connected to this energy center and arms and hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands, shoulders and neck. Speaking falsely can cause a blockage here, which will show itself as difficulty in speaking up for yourself, poor communication and stifled creativity. 

Third Eye Chakra Ajna

The Ajna center is where intuition resides and where mental activity coalesces. Its color is indigo and it is said to be the questioning chakra that considers the spiritual nature of life. It is located in the center of our brow, between the eyebrows. This is the seat of perceptual clarity and shamanic vision. 

Crown Chakra Sahasrara

Sahasrara is located at the top of the head and the colors associated with it are violet or white.

When the crown chakra is open, energies can pass freely through to the other chakras. It is quite often depicted as a lotus flower and is said to be our connection to the divine, where bliss, acceptance and harmony reside. The parts of the body connected to this chakra are the pituitary gland, the cerebral cortex, and the central nervous system. The seat of all understanding and your own destiny, this energy center is where a knowing wisdom is born. A blocked crown chakra can reveal itself through psychological issues.

The chakras are powerful energy vortices, and need to be kept in balance for optimum physical, mental, and spiritual health. To do this you might meditate on each chakra, visualizing its color and location. This is a good way to stay connected, and you would start with the root chakra and work your way up to the crown. The chakra system is more than just an interesting phenomenon, and working on staying in balance is a good way to have good overall health.


, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply